A Second chance as Software Engineer

It was 2009, the world was depressed, so was everyone around me. The times were bad, job were few and too many applicants. Things were more difficult for me, as I was very good at C++ but everyone wanted a Java developer. Service based industry was booming in India.

So when a friend asked be if you want to join as s java fresher, I said sure. How hard can java be, right? And I was correct, I studied 1 night before the exam, and cracked the interview next morning.

Though I didn't do any work at the job, as the project wasn't awarded to my company, but I learned that the project was in a framework called ATG(now called Oracle Commerce). I talked to other people around in the office on other projects and came to know this was a really high paying framework. ATG(now called Oracle Commerce) is used to develop B2B and B2C e-commerce applications. It pioneered the commerce implementation space.

There were no public documentations available, as is the case with most closed(owned by private orgs.) frameworks. I hustled around and got my self the documentation from others in the office. After some bouncing around for almost 10 months, I came to the conclusion that I need to get serious about this framework.

I starting reading the documentation and within 2 months got the job. I work in ATG(now called Oracle Commerce), for almost 9-10 years, worked on some really big projects.

Everything was going fine, then Oracle bought ATG, released some great features and then cloud happened. ATG was the example of a monolith. Though it is a great framework and instead of move it to micro-services, Oracle decided to make a worst version of ATG on cloud. Everyone hated it. Then came the news that there will be no new version of ATG released. All the big e-commerce clients needs to look for another alternative.

Now I have got 2 choices, either learn Spring and go to any service based companies that are moving their client's ATG based e-comm to Spring based Micro-Services or Study hard and go to a product based organization.

I choose option 2 as the monitory return is higher in product based organizations and the work is fun and challenging.

I am taking this second chance to become a great software engineer.

I will be documenting my journey of my preparation and topics I am learning

--yadav